Local State Members Win Rezoning of Parks to Public Open Space

Monday 28 March 2022


  • 13 State-owned local reserves to be formally reserved ‘Public Open Space’ in the electorates of Bateman, Bicton and Willagee
  • Planning Minister requests City of Melville to resubmit documentation which includes formal reservation of State-owned land as ‘Public Open Space’
  • Member for Bateman, Kim Giddens MLA advocates the reservation of 6 parks to Public Open Space in the electorate of Bateman
  • Member for Bicton, Lisa O’Malley MLA advocates the reservation of 4 parks to Public Open Space in electorate of Bicton
  • Member for Willagee, Hon. Peter Tinley AM MLA, advocates the reservation of 3 parks within the electorate of Willagee


The Member for Bateman, Kim Giddens MLA, and Member for Bicton, Lisa O’Malley MLA, have secured a win for the community on the remaining 13 State-owned reserves to be formally reserved as ‘Public Open Space’ under City of Melville Local Planning Scheme No.6.

Planning Minister Hon. Rita Saffioti MLA has written to the City of Melville formally requesting documentation be amended to reflect the Amendment as originally adopted which includes reserving the State-owned land to Public Open Space.

This follows an assessment of the State Government-owned land and the results of this process deemed it appropriate to rezone the reserves from ‘Residential’ to ‘Public Open Space’.

State MLA’s Kim Giddens and Lisa O’Malley MLA took the issue up directly with Minister Saffioti, and the matter was raised by both members in State Parliament. 

This was supported by a strong community campaign including Save Harry Clemens Reserve Myaree, Save Pitman Park and Prosser Park Myaree, Save Laurie Withers Reserve (Kardinya) and Save Reg Seal Reserve (Mount Pleasant).

Some of the parks and reserves were zoned ‘Residential’ in 2015 under the former Melville Council and Liberal Government and will now be returned to ‘Public Open Space’ by Minister Saffioti for future generations to enjoy.

The Amendment will receive final endorsement once the City of Melville return the documents for signing.

The following State-owned reserves to be included in rezoning are;

  • Ces Deceau Reserve, Brentwood
  • Harry Clemens Reserve, Myaree
  • Hugh Corbett Park, Booragoon
  • Jack Jeffery Park, Kardinya
  • Jack Martin Reserve, Kardinya
  • Laurie Withers Reserve (part), Kardinya
  • Marguerite Smith Reserve, Attadale
  • Norm Godfrey Reserve, Kardinya
  • Pitman Park, Myaree
  • Prosser Park, Myaree
  • Reg Seal Reserve (part), Mount Pleasant
  • Unnamed Park, 12 Lockwood Court, Bicton
  • Unnamed Park, McBeth Way, Kardinya


Comments attributed to Kim Giddens MLA, Member for Bateman:

 "I’m delighted to achieve this outcome on behalf of our community."

"The community support for protecting our local parks was overwhelming, with around 3,000 residents signing petitions, completing my online survey, or emailing."

"This is a great example of what can be achieved when the community and their local representative work together."

"I would like to thank Minister Saffioti for her response to representation from myself and Lisa O’Malley MLA on this issue."


Comments attributed to Member for Bicton Lisa O’Malley MLA:

 “I’m proud of the strong community campaign led by the extraordinary efforts of local champions Marina Hanson & Jill Bowman.”

 “Working with community to achieve great outcomes like this is what it’s all about.” 

“The value of our local parks as places for people to meet, socialise, play, and connect, as well as the ecological benefits as pockets of urban bushland is beyond measure. I am grateful to Minister Saffioti for her recognition of this in the formal reservation of these reserves to Public Open Space.”


 Media Contact: Callum Nevill 0478 580 449